A Celebration of Life (and Mothers)

This past weekend a friend of mine gave birth to her second child, a little boy. The birth of a baby is kind of nature’s way of reminding us that life is a celebration. We should never waste a moment of it.

We should also always be thankful for the people who brought us life and nurtured us to adulthood. So thank you to all you mothers out there for all you have done for us. Don’t worry dads, I’ve got a special post for you on Father’s Day.

So today, I am reminded to be thankful for my life and thankful to all the women (and men) in my life who have made it such a great one. I have had several mothers to guide me along the way: my mom, my aunts, my grandmothers, my sisters/cousins and now my mother-in-law. Because to me, a mother isn’t just someone who gives you life, she is someone who is always there for you.

I found this quote I felt was such a fitting description for all the mothers I have in my life.

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.”

~Washington Irving

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

